Six Dawgs earn All-League boys’ soccer honors

By Gini Davis

The Creswell Chronicle

Six members of the Creswell Bulldogs boys’ soccer team were honored when 3A/2A/1A Special District 3 All-League teams were announced recently.

Senior defender Tristen Ward was named to the First Team. Senior defender/midfielder Eddie Hernandez and junior midfielder/forward Avel Garcia-Fetter were named to the Second Team. Senior forward Zach Culp, sophomore midfielder/forward Ethan Stephens and junior goalkeeper Jaxson Wilkerson received Honorable Mention.

Sam Schuetz, a senior from Pleasant Hill was named Player of the Year.

Joining Schuetz and Ward on the Special District 3 First Team are senior Ike Sugatani of Pleasant Hill, senior Eric Gibbs of Pleasant Hill, junior Kyler Goelzer of Santiam Christian, senior Ryan Hall of Santiam Christian, sophomore Josh Verdeyen of Santiam Christian, senior Connor Peckfelder of East Linn Christian, senior Connor Moore of East Linn Christian, junior Kody Jones of East Linn Christian and senior goalkeeper Torrey Gage-Tomlinson of Pleasant Hill.

Joining Hernandez and Garcia-Fetter on the Second Team are senior Jordan Lyda of Pleasant Hill, junior Patrick Otis of Santiam Christian, sophomore Sam Kim of Santiam Christian, sophomore Chase Groome of Santiam Christian, senior Maddi Christenson of East Linn Christian, junior Matt Reardon of East Linn Christian, senior Jeremy Smith of La Pine, senior Morrie Desatoff of La Pine and junior goalkeeper Winn Miller of Santiam Christian.

Receiving Honorable Mention along with Culp, Stephens and Wilkerson are senior Favio Cabanas of Pleasant Hill, senior Nathan Faber of Pleasant Hill, senior Gabe Placko of Pleasant Hill, junior Dylan Hammond of Pleasant Hill, senior Matthew Mehlschau of Santiam Christian, junior Brennen Sorah of Santiam Christian, junior Josiah Hatfield of East Linn Christian, junior Jake Vandehey of East Linn Christian, junior Logan Clark of La Pine, senior Cort Lae of La Pine, junior Derrik Kerr of La Pine, junior Gabe Bunnell of Glide, junior Simon Hooper of Glide, sophomore Waylon Logan of Central Linn and senior goalkeeper Wyatt Oldham of La Pine.

Colin Hay, head coach of the Pleasant Hill Billies was named Special District 3 Coach of the Year.