Four Lady Dawgs score all-league softball honors

By Gini Davis – The Creswell Chronicle

Four members of the Creswell Lady Bulldogs softball team were honored recently when the Mountain Valley Conference posted its 2017 All-Conference Teams.

Carly Ayer, a senior, was named to the All-Conference First Team as a utility player/designated hitter. Brielle Wolf, a freshman, was named to the All-Conference Second Team as a pitcher. Josie Worsham, a senior, was named to the Second Team as an infielder and Dallis Cook, also a senior, was named to the Second Team as an outfielder.

Erica Skelton, pitcher for the Pleasant Hill Billies, was named Mountain Valley Conference Player of the Year.

Joining Skelton and Ayer on the First Team were pitchers Jordan Williams of Glide and Haley Brooks of Harrisburg; catchers Natalie Downes of Pleasant Hill and McKenzie Thompson of Harrisburg; and first baseman Courtney Severs of Glide.

Also named to the First Team were infielders Allison Michel of Glide, Whitney Stone of Glide, Erin Skelton of Pleasant Hill and Bailee Carroll of Pleasant Hill; outfielders Madisen Malek of Glide, Alicia Nichols of Glide, Taylor Bennett of Harrisburg, Claudia Feil of Pleasant Hill and Chesney Wickwire of Pleasant Hill; and utility player/designated hitters Mashayla Belloir of Glide and Sueann Marsh of La Pine.

Named to the Second Team along with Wolf, Worsham and Cook were pitchers Trianna Huffman of Coquille and Josey Hawkins of La Pine; catcher Alyssa Mack of Glide; first baseman Lexi Smith of Pleasant Hill; infielders Stephanie Pelkey of Harrisburg, Cynthia Downs of Harrisburg and Ciana Duble of Coquille; and outfielders Rhiannon McKinley of Coquille, Taylar Daggett of La Pine and Kendra Smith of Pleasant Hill.

Receiving Honorable Mention were first baseman Taytum Hughes of Harrisburg; and infielders Saige Gallino of Coquille and McKenzie Walsworth of La Pine.

Steve Williams, head coach of the Glide Wildcats, received Mountain Valley Conference Coach of the Year honors.